20190525_bta_MontpelierVsU32Baseball_003.jpg (copy)

U-32’s Owen Kellington laces an opposite-field single against Montpelier last month.

U-32 sophomore Owen Kellington and Thetford senior Aiden Cudhea were named Capital League baseball Co-Players of the Year as the league announced its awards Wednesday.

Capital League coaches also released the list of First and Second Team All-Stars for the 2019 season. Players from Lake Region, Lamoille, Lyndon, Montpelier, Oxbow and Randolph were also selected.

Last year, Cudhea and Kellington were both honored as First Team players, and their stock continued to rise this season. Cudhea played infield for the Panthers and emerged as one of the most dangerous offensive threats in the league. He was a master at producing extra-base hits in clutch situations, helping Thetford (11-5) advance to the Division III semifinals.

Kellington earned a reputation across Vermont as a power pitcher who also gets the job done at the plate. The Raiders were forced to play eight games in the last two weeks of the season, making it difficult to start Kellington on the mound on a regular basis. But when their ace was in the zone, few opponents were able to find an answer against his bag of tricks. Kellington routinely piled up double-digit strikeout totals, and offensively he had a knack for knocking in timely runs.

Harwood’s Chase Reagan and Charlie Zschau both secured First Team status this year after earning Second Team nods last spring. The Highlanders (10-4) earned a dramatic quarterfinal victory over Lamoille (9-7) to reach the D-II semis for the second straight season.

James Grandy is the lone First Team selection for 7-11 Randolph, which advanced to the D-III quarterfinals. Pitcher Cody Grant is another First Team player after leading Oxbow (10-7) to the D-III quarterfinals. Montpelier’s Nicholas Beavins is one of three juniors on the First Team.

First Team

Chase Reagan, Sr. and Charlie Zschau, Sr., Harwood; Keith Herman, Jr., and Parker Perron, Jr., Lake Region; Garrett Martin, Sr., Lamoille; Drew Dudas, Sr., Lyndon; Nicholas Beavins, Jr., Montpelier; Cody Grant, Sr., Oxbow; James Grandy, Sr., Randolph; Jake Colby, Sr., Aiden Nichols, Sr., Thetford.

Second Team

Bobby Kelly, Sr., Harwood; Dylan Gagnon, Sr., Lake Region; Jake Vance, Sr., Lamoille; Micah Blomberg, Jr., Montpelier; Jameson Schranm, Sr., Oxbow; Zachary Whitmore, Sr., Randolph; Seth Boyce, Sr., and Ryan Pepe, Jr., Thetford; Carter Pelzel, Jr., U-32.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.