• Mistakecostlyto Tiger
     | April 14,2013

    AUGUSTA, Ga. — Tiger Woods dropped two strokes at the Masters before he even hit a shot Saturday. At least he’s still in the tournament.

    Woods got a reprieve at the Masters when he was given a two-shot penalty for a bad drop but avoided a more serious sanction — disqualification.

    “I took a drop that I thought was correct and in accordance with the rules,” Woods said on Twitter. “I understand and accept the penalty and respect the committee’s decision.”

    Still, the ruling stirred up plenty of debate on social media. Some fellow golfers claimed Woods got special treatment and others noted it came one day after 14-year-old Guan Tianlang was penalized a stroke for slow play, nearly causing him to miss the cut.

    Some even called for Woods to withdraw.

    “I think he should WD. He took a drop to gain an advantage,” tweeted David Duval, once Woods’ top rival.

    “I guess Tiger is BIGGER than golf. Any other person in the world gets DQ’d. Gotta keep those TV ratings going right?” added Kyle Thompson, who plays on a lower-level tour.

    Hunter Mahan, who missed the Masters cut, praised the decision.

    “I like this ruling because he took an illegal drop but no official brought it to his attention,” Mahan tweeted.

    The penalty against Woods made it harder for him to win his fifth green jacket. Instead of starting Saturday’s third round three strokes off the lead, he faced a five-shot deficit.

    The problem began after Woods’ third shot at the par-5 15th struck the flag stick and ricocheted back into the water. He took his penalty drop two yards behind where he hit the original shot, which was a rules violation.

    After a call from a television viewer, Augusta National reviewed the drop before Woods signed his card and found nothing wrong. Woods later said he was trying to drop it behind the original spot. His interview prompted the club to review it again and Woods was given a two-shot penalty. That put him at 1-over 73 instead of 71 for a 1-under 143 total.

    Signing an incorrect scorecard generally results in disqualification, but Woods was saved by a new rule — announced at the Masters two years ago — that allows a player to stay in the tournament if a rules dispute was based on television evidence.

    Fred Ridley, chairman of the competition committees, said there was never any talk of booting Woods from the tournament because the club had initially cleared him of wrongdoing before he signed his card. Essentially, Augusta National took the blame.

    Ridley also disputed any notion that the ruling would have been different for a lesser player.

    “I can’t really control what the perception might or might not be,” Ridley said. “All I can say is that unequivocally this tournament is about integrity. Our founder, Bobby Jones, was about integrity, and if this had been John Smith from wherever, he would have gotten the same ruling because it is the right ruling under these circumstances.”

    The decision grabbed more attention than any shot so far at this Masters. Woods not only is the No. 1 player and golf’s biggest star, he had won two straight tournaments coming into the Masters. He was the overwhelming favorite to win, ending a five-year drought in the majors, and capture the green jacket for the first time since 2005. With 14 major titles, he trails only Jack Nicklaus with 18.

    Golf is the only sport where TV viewers act as rules officials. If they see a violation and it turns out to be true, a player must be penalized.

    Woods, however, indicted himself by explaining how he took the drop.

    “I went back to where I played it from, but went two yards further back and I tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit,” Woods said Friday after he signed for a 71. “And that should land me short of the flag and not have it either hit the flag or skip over the back. I felt that was going to be the right decision to take off four (yards) right there. And I did. It worked out perfectly.”

    He hit that fifth shot to about 4 feet and made the putt for bogey.

    Rules 26-1 says that if a player chooses to go back to his original spot, the ball should be dropped as “nearly as possible” to the spot where it was last played. Photos and video shows his ball dropped at least a yard behind his previous divot.

    Rule 33 states that disqualification can be waived at the committee’s discretion. However, a decision that accompanies this rule says that the committee would not be justified to waive the DQ if it was a result of the player’s ignorance of the rules or if he could have reasonably discovered his mistake before signing his scorecard.

    MORE IN Sports Wire
    COLUMBIA, S.C. — PJ Dozier had a career-high 21 points and No. Full Story
    Dozier’s 21 lead No. 20 South Carolina past Vermont, 68-50
    Jay Cutler’s season is over and his time in Chicago might be, too. Full Story
    Surgery could end Bears-Cutler stint
    The star Patriots tight end is having surgery for a herniated disk in his back, a person with... Full Story
    AP Source: Back surgery could spell end
of the season for Patriots TE Gronkowski
    More Articles
    • VIDEOS
    • PHOTOS