• Student news
    February 19,2013

    The following local residents were named to the honors list for the fall 2012 semester at the New England School of Communications.

    Brandon Baumann, a resident of Randolph, was named to the high honors list.

    Konnor Newton, a resident of Morrisville, was named to the high honors list.

    Timothy Simpson, a resident of Lyndonville, was named to the high honors list.

    Zachary J. Pfister has received the George C. Marshall Award during an awards ceremony at the Marshall Center, Virginia Military Institute in Lexington, Va. The award is named in the honor and legacy of General of the Army George C. Marshall, who served in World War II as the Army chief of staff and in the post-war era served as secretary of state and secretary of defense.

    The award is presented annually to the most outstanding senior Army Reserve Officer Training Corps cadets in military science studies and leadership values in each battalion at host universities or colleges. Top cadets from each cadet battalion represent the very best of a highly selective organization.

    This is a national award and the highest award an ROTC cadet can receive. The cadets participate in focus groups and roundtable discussions and lectures on the theme of the national security of the United States and the Army’s security role in the international arena. Cadets receive formal speeches from the highest echelons of the U.S. Army’s leadership ranks, scholars and experts in the area of national defense. The cadet is a student at Rochester (N.Y.) Institute of Technology. Pfister is the son of Scott and Lyn Pfister of Chelsea Circle, Mount Airy, Md.

    He graduated in 2009 from Harwood Union High School.

    The University of Maine at Farmington announces its dean’s list for the fall 2012 semester.

    Lauren Scheidegger of Charlotte; Jenell Green of Danville; Samantha Funk of Groton; Salena Sykes of Island Pond; Devin Kelsey of Northfield; Caroline Estrin-Grele of Putney; Stephanie Vincent of St. Albans; and Hannah Watson of St. Albans.

    Vermont Technical College is recognizing an impressive 364 students who have achieved two of the college’s highest honors. Among them, 316 students were named to the dean’s list and 48 students were named to the president’s list for the fall semester.

    Locally, Joshua Allen, Jacob Bliss, Robert Brown, Ian Carey, Amy Comette, Page Decroti, WillyJane Patry, Amy Plante, Iain Portalupi, Dalice Surrell, Kyle Wells, Nicole Supernault, Richard Beach and Ryan Roberts from Barre; Jeremy Cameron and Kyle Elliott from Berlin; Britney Provo and Cassady Wright from Bradford; Matthew Molayem from Braintree; Thomas Zani from Brookfield; Blaine Conner, Elizabeth Kennedy, Conner Lafromboise and Alison VanArsdel from Chelsea; Margaret Morris from East Montpelier; Cameron Lawson from East Barre; Grace De Geus and Torrie Weston from East Calais; Emily Darling from Groton; Steven Lichti, Aaron Koss, Corey Michaud and Glen Rogers from Montpelier; Justin Crowell from Moretown; Emma Horowitz-McCadden, Corey Johnson and Seandell Parker from Plainfield; Courtney Hart from Topsham; Liam Clarke from Waterbury Center; Christopher Burns, Charles Hathaway, Kathleen Mackey, Christopher Nealy, Katherine Siner and Dillon Welch from Waterbury; Jacob Moore from Websterville; Kara Thurston from Vershire; Connor Murphy from West Topsham; and Samantha Avery, Esther Covey, Kyle Emmons and Michael Emmons from Williamstown achieved dean’s list honors.

    Antoine Chesaux from Calais; Eamon Duane from East Montpelier; Samantha Davis-Hiscock from Graniteville; Kayla Robinson from Barre; Joshua D’Agostino and Megan Welcome from Montpelier; and Jonathan Crouch from Waterbury achieved president’s list honors.

    Michelle Towle of Waterville was named to the dean’s list at Olivet Nazarene University during the recently completed fall 2012 semester.

    University of Maine at Presque Isle announced Elizabeth Claire Wortman Bousquet, of Morrisville, has been named to the dean’s list for the fall 2012 semester. Bousquet, who attained the high honors list, was among 297 students to achieve the distinction.

    VSAC hosts college planning day

    WINOOSKI — High school sophomores, juniors, and parents who want to get a jump on college planning should attend Vermont Student Assistance Corp.’s 12th annual College Pathways program, a free day of workshops on preparing for higher education.

    To accommodate as many families as possible, VSAC hosts College Pathways in three locations on the following Satur-days:

    March 16 at St. Michael’s College in Colchester, 9:15 a.m. to 2:45 p.m. (lunch provided)

    March 23 at Castleton State College in Castleton, 9:30 a.m. to 2:15 p.m. (lunch provided)

    April 6 at Lyndon State College in Lyndonville, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.


    MORE IN Central Vermont
    BARRE — Mayor Thomas Lauzon has fleshed out a plan to revive a package of local option taxes that... Full Story
    With more than five million “likes,” Sen. Full Story
    There are already several homes around central Vermont decked out in their holiday best, from... Full Story
    Who has the best holiday lights?
    More Articles
    • VIDEOS
    • PHOTOS