• Community news
    February 16,2013

    Jeb Wallace-Brodeur / Staff Photo Barre Town second grader Gage Simpson, right, presents a Valentine card to a resident at Berlin Health and Rehabilitation Center on Thursday as part of a week of Valentines performances by the class at area nursing homes.

    The following students at the Community College of Vermont were named to the fall 2012 presidentís list. The presidentís list includes full-time students with a 4.0 grade point average.

    Josselyn Swett, a resident of East Thetford; Heather Weaver, a resident of Randolph; Melissa Links, a resident of Montpelier; Tia-Marie Provoncha Tallman, a resident of Morrisville; Jeannette Russell, a resident of St. Johnsbury; Christopher Goslant, a resident of Waterford; Richard Hastings, a resident of Lyndon; Steven Tanner, a resident of Lyndonville; William Dunoskovic, a resident of West Burke; Andrew Dunoskovic, a resident of Newark; Jerod Florentine, a resident of East Ryegate.

    The following students at the Community College of Vermont were named to the fall 2012 deanís List. The deanís list includes full-time students with a GPA of 3.5 to 3.99.

    Annaalisia Ledoux, a resident of Bradford; Joseph Ducharme, a resident of Chelsea; Nathan Brown, a resident of Ryegate; Claire Goldsworthy, a resident of Randolph; Ashley LaFreniere, a resident of Randolph; Joshua Clark, a resident of Thetford Center; Jennie Meglathery, a resident of Thetford Center; Chad Clark, a resident of Thetford Center; Kaitlin Morrison, a resident of Wells River; John Sargent, a resident of Montpelier; Adam Grayck, a resident of Montpelier; Julia Watt, a resident of Montpelier; Elizabeth OíNeill, a resident of Barre; Rose Duquette, a resident of Barre; Nicholas Ross, a resident of Barre; Lucas Kessler, a resident of Barre; Karri Benoir, a resident of Barre; MacKenzie Palana, a resident of Berlin; Jill Lawrence, a resident of East Barre; Andria Benjamin, a resident of Eden; Mysha Dompierre, a resident of Hyde Park; Jayme Belval, a resident of Moretown; Beverly Mullaney, a resident of Morrisville; Lucas Griggs, a resident of Morrisville; Jennifer Bradley, a resident of Morrisville; Christopher Genega, a resident of West Berlin; Stephanie Cooke, a resident of Northfield; Logan Volpe, a resident of Waitsfield; Tyler Avery, a resident of Washington; Hannah Tomeny, a resident of Waterbury; Catherine Heath, a resident of Waterbury; Shane Town, a resident of Websterville; Connie Covey, a resident of Williamstown; Bethany Carrier, a resident of Williamstown; Samuel Jensen, a resident of Woodbury; Crystal Prue, a resident of St. Johnsbury; Joseph Nagle, a resident of St. Johnsbury; Maxton Wales, a resident of St. Johnsbury; Samantha Austin, a resident of Danville; Ryan Galvin, a resident of Lyndonville; Jacob Robinson, a resident of Passumpsic; Samuel Whitcomb-Paulson, a resident of Newark; Dominique Parisi, a resident of Newark; Gabriel Grenier, a resident of Barre; Dylan Magwire, a resident of East Barre; Ian Young, a resident of Lyndonville.

    Ruby N. Sadoques of North Thetford, Vt., has been named to second honors on the Clark University Deanís List. This selection marks outstanding academic achievement during the Fall 2012 semester.

    The following local residents were among 386 students honored for outstanding academic achievement by being named to the deanís list for the 2012 fall semester at Mount Ida College in Massachusetts: Taylor Bellavance, a resident of Barre; Zoe Gaby-Smith, a resident of Brookfield; Danielle Riley, a resident of Barre; Brittney Sargent, a resident of West Brookfield; Kendall Woodward, a resident of Bradford.

    Local residents were recently named to the fall 2012 deansí list at Merrimack College in Massachusetts. To be named to the deanís list, a student must achieve a 3.25 grade point average or higher, based on a 4.0 grading system.

    Thomas Kennison, a resident of Barre, is a freshman in the School of Science and Engineering.

    Jeffrey Ziske, a resident of Barre, is a freshman in the School of Science and Engineering.

    The following local students earned term honors for the fall semester at Skidmore College:

    Jenna Postler, a member of the class of 2013. She is the daughter of Brian and Julie Postler of Thetford Center.

    Sydney Lea, a member of the class of 2014. She is the daughter of Sydney Lea and M. Robin Barone of Newbury.

    Gabriel Allen, a member of the class of 2016. He is the son of Jeffrey Allen and Stephanie Lahar of Montpelier.

    The following students have been named to Plymouth State Universityís deanís list: Jordan Black-Deegan of East Montpelier; Christopher Perreault of St. Johnsbury; Jordan Rock of Cambridge; Ryan Van Tuinen of Waterbury.

    The following local residents were named to the honors list for the fall 2012 semester at the New England School of Communications:

    Brandon Baumann, a resident of Randolph; Konnor Newton, a resident of Morrisville; Timothy Simpson, a resident of Lyndonville.

    Air National Guard Airman Jeffrey A. Halls graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base, San Antonio, Texas.

    The airman completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness, and basic warfare principles and skills. Airmen who complete basic training earn four credits toward an associate in applied science degree through the Community College of the Air Force. Halls is the son of Michael Halls and grandson of Margeret Halls, both of Grow Road, Johnson. He is a 2010 graduate of Peoples Academy High School, Morrisville.


    MORE IN Central Vermont
    A Swiss law firm claims Vermonters for a Clean Environment violated the rights of the owners of... Full Story
    Hanover ó After studying the 2016 presidential election results, researchers at Dartmouth College... Full Story


    WHITE RIVER JUNCTION ó Two Hartford women,... Full Story
    More Articles
    • VIDEOS
    • PHOTOS